Wednesday, 15 July 2020

I Interviews

Interview: Lynette Eason

Author of Without Warning

  1. Without Warning is the second book in your Elite Guardians series. Tell us about this series and how you came up with the idea.

This has been such a fun series to write. I came up with the idea of the all-female bodyguard agency when I was researching different ideas and things I might like to write about. I came across the Athena Academy in Athens, Greece, and immediately thought, Aha! That’s what I want to write about. And so the Elite Guardians series was born. In Without Warning, I knew I wanted to incorporate an old coin, an airplane, archaeology, and a restaurant. From there, I brainstormed some ideas with friends, and Without Warning came to be.

  1. The Elite Guardians series specializes in suspense. What do you like about being a suspense writer?

I really enjoy solving the puzzle. Writing suspense is like gathering scattered pieces of a puzzle together and figuring out where they fit. It’s fun, it’s challenging, and it’s often a pain in the neck, but I love it. And I especially love seeing the finished product.

  1. Tell us about your research process.

I research as I write, mostly. If I come across a topic I’m not familiar with, like the value of antique coins, I’ll stop writing, do the research, and insert what I need in the story. Then I keep writing. I also have a number of professionals in my email or phone contact list. Whatever I have a question about a profession, I can generally shoot off an email or text and have my answer within hours. Sometimes within minutes. That’s always a very nice thing!

  1. Without Warning begins with a twist in the very first chapter. Was the first scene the most difficult one to write?      

Believe it or not, the first scene is usually the easiest scene out of the entire book for me to write. I think it’s because I visualize it in its entirety before I even type the first word. That’s not to say I don’t go back and tweak as needed, but my first scene generally stays the first scene. I’ve only had a couple of books where I’ve scrapped the first scene and started over. Not too bad considering I have almost forty stories under my belt!

  1. Are the characters in Without Warning and the Elite Guardians series based on people you know?

No. I try not to do that—unless a person has asked to be in a book and has signed a waiver. I might use characteristics of people I know, but I also make the character different enough that those people wouldn’t think, Hey, she’s talking about me!


  1. Introduce us to Katie Singleton, who works for the protection agency. How did this job begin for her?

Katie Singleton is a quiet person. Except when she gets to know you. She’s carrying a lot of guilt from an incident in her past, and her family is a bit estranged from her because of it. Not that she wants it that way, she just doesn’t know how to bridge the gap. So she avoids the situation. Her job keeps her busy enough that she doesn’t have to think about it much. Until she gets involved with Daniel and his niece. Then she learns the true meaning of forgiveness and what facing the past entails.

  1. Tell us more about Daniel Matthews and his niece Riley.

Daniel is a go-getter. He’s never been one to let the grass grow under his feet. He’s loyal and family oriented and a savvy businessman. His eighteen-year-old niece lives with him because her parents (his brother and sister-in-law) were killed by a drunk driver. Daniel was in the military and knows how to take care of himself pretty well. But even he has trouble staying alive with the killer who is after him. Riley is an amazing young lady (based partly on my daughter). She’s witty and funny, compassionate and loyal. She has a heart for the less fortunate and loves her uncle fiercely. She’s also spiritually mature and loves God. She shows some of the adults how best to love and how to forgive even when people do the unforgivable.

  1. Your novels are full of diverse and realistic characters. How do you keep them all straight when you are writing a novel?

I do keep a spreadsheet of characters and their descriptions and their role in the story, but mostly I just keep them in my head. They’re people to me and I know them. Therefore, it’s not hard to keep them straight.

  1. What faith message do you most want readers to take from your books?

I want readers to take away the message that they are not beyond redemption. I want them to see God at work in the lives of my characters and somehow be able to relate that to their own lives. To know that this is not just fiction—that God wants a personal relationship with each person and he’s ready to work in their lives if they’ll just let him. I want readers to see characters facing hard stuff and coming out victorious because they placed their faith in God and allowed him to work through them.

  1. Will there be another book in the Elite Guardians series?

Yes, there are two more books in the series: Moving Target and a fourth book that hasn’t been titled yet.

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series, and the Hidden Identity series, as well as Always Watching in the Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of an ACFW Carol Award, a Selah Award, and an Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award. She has a master’s degree in education from Converse College, and she lives in South Carolina. Learn more about Eason and her work at


Share this!

Fueling Wholesome Entertainment

TWJ Magazine is the premier publication for lovers of the written word.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.